M-I-C-K-E-Y M-O-U-S-E

A couple of weeks ago my family put on a birthday party for my two nephews Josh and Bennett. My sister Tessa had just had her baby Evelyn a week before hand and didn’t want her boys to miss out on celebrating their 4th and 2nd birthdays. So my mom, sisters and I stepped in and took over the party. My mom handled the location and cake. My sisters Brie and Laurin took care of the food and drinks. And I called dibs on the decorations and the games. Letting my creativity flow was a lot of fun and thanks to Pinterest I had a ton of ideas.

IMG_3768

IMG_3770

IMG_3780

IMG_3782

While there was plenty of sweat equity on my part, there was only a little originality. I would have had a much harder time if it weren’t for another blog, which I down right copied in most cases. I made the “Toodles” as a chart for the party games. The birthday boys got to pick which games they wanted to play, saving the mystery mouse-ca-tool (pinata) for the end. It made it a lot easier on me having a place for all of the kids to congregate before and after each game and it was a great decoration.

IMG_3745

DSC_0181

The music notes represented a cake walk, or “Hot Dog” song walk. On the outside deck I placed a picture of each of Mickey Mouses friends in a circle. The kids walked from one picture to the next while the Hot Dog song played. When I stopped the music I’d call out one of Mickey’s friends and whoever was standing on that one got a sticker. This was supposed the be the simplest game but it was a flop. The papers were moving all around the floor, the space wasn’t big enough and most of the kids kept forgetting to walk in a circle. It was confusing. But the kids didn’t seem to notice, they were just happy to be getting stickers.

DSC_0095

DSC_0103

The next game the boys chose was Pluto’s Bone hunt. This was probably the best game of the night. I cut out bones out of yellow cardboard and made envelopes on each one. Once the kids found all of Pluto’s Bones they ripped the envelopes open to find pieces to a Mickey Mouse puzzle. All of the kids helped put the puzzle together and the birthday boys took it home. Did I mention that I found that puzzle for $1 at the dollar tree?

IMG_3741

IMG_3746

DSC_0114

DSC_0119

DSC_0141

The last game was Pin-The-Ears-On-The-Birthday-Boys. And you guessed it, it’s a total rip off of pin-the-tail-on-the-donkey. The winners of this game got a sheet of stickers… although we found out a little late that the first three kids could see under the blindfold, thus explaining their VERY accurately placed Mickey Mouse ears.

DSC_0164

DSC_0169

DSC_0175

The most original I got with this party was in making the pinata. My sister-in-law suggested I decorate it with small strips of crepe paper and I like it better than the circular pattern they showed on this tutorial.

DSC_0180

IMG_3766

IMG_3767

IMG_3790

DSC_0215

DSC_0234

DSC_0251

DSC_0254

DSC_0276

I would be remiss if I didn’t include pictures of the cupcakes my mom made. She used to make cakes for a living and around every birthday we all get to benefit from her mad skills. I thought her Mickey Mouse was over the top! Good job mom- I seriously loved the Mickey face.

DSC_0278

DSC_0286

Leave a comment